Thursday, March 22, 2007



Kindly include the following authentic note on Pushkarna Brahmans in your website on Brahmans.

Professor Shyamdas Joshi

1. The origin:

Brahmans the first and foremost caste of Hindu Society and its Caste System is the most talented intellectual class. They were known as Maharishies in the ancient times, who led a very austric life in the meditation, the dhyan yoga and tapasya. They gave Vedas and Upanishads and other ancient religious or spiritual literature. Brahmans are the descendents of these Maha-rishies, who are their gotras and parvars. The Caste System is oftenly being criticised by some without going deep in its merits and demerits. It is actually based on principle of Division of Labour. Considering the society as a whole just like human body. Brahmans being intellectual class occupy the place of head or brain with their higher intellect, knowledge and understanding. Khatries as arm which is meant for protection of the body. Vaish or Merchant class are just like stomach, which receives food, digests and transforms into blood and circulates it through out the entire body. They are supposed to bring the every day use commodities from their place of origin, where they are produced and supplied to the society with reasonable price including costs and theirs normal profit. The Shudras are not un-touchable, But labourers, a very important class responsible for production in the Country. They are thus compared with legs upon which the entire structure of the society stands. The caste is determined by two factors Birth and Action or Karam after Birth to maintain it. Theory of Karma or Transmigration of Soul clearly shows that caste in which Jiva gets birth is determined by the Prarbadh Karams, which mature at the time of his birth. Jivatma gets birth due to his past good deeds and as a Brahman he still needs much more good deeds or Karmas. Only individual souls with best past record of good karmas can get birth as Brahmans. After birth the second and the most important factor is the action or Karma performed by the individual. By combination of two completes the determination of Varans or caste of individual.

As pointed out in chapter 1, Shlok 8 of Brahman Utpatti Martand, in the beginning all Brahmans were of only one kind. Subsequently, those who resided on the northern side of Vindhyachal Mountain were known as Goads and those residing in the South as Dravidians who were mostly of black colour, but in them too those who were descendents of Maha rishi Vashishtha and other fair colour rishies were of fair colour. Historians in some cases have not done full justice with Dravidians in naming them, as Unaryans. Dravadians were actually most civilized as they were connected with ancient civilization of Mohen Jo Daro and Indus Valley civilization. Thereafter five classes of each goad and dravads came into being, to name as

1. Sarswat

2. Kanyakubja

3. Goad

4. Utakal

5. Maithali

from goads and

1. Karnataka

2. Tailang

3. Dravid

4. Maharashtra

5. Gurjars

from dravads. From these 10 kinds of both Goad and dravads so many classes of Brahmans emerged. Some say the 84 classes, while others say that number was still more. Some even claim that 84 classes pertain to only Gurjar Brahmans of Dravads, But classification shows that it includes Darvads as well as Goads also. Pushkarna Brahmans were originally Sindh or Sindhwarni Brahmans included in the S.No.5 Gurjar of Dravads. These Sindh or Sindhwarni Brahmans are very old ones and were settled on the banks of Indus river who subsequently earned the blessings of Durga Devi and were named as Pushtikar or Pushkarna Brahmans (Those who strengthen the religion ) on Shranwan Shukla Tryodashi. The day is still being celebrated by Pushkarnas as Pushtikar or Pushkarna day every year. Word Pushkarna emerged from Pishtikar. They were settled in Sindh right from Multan, Bahawalpur upper Sindh Shikarpur , upto Hyderabad, Karachi and Thatta.

2. Classification:

From the main 10 classes of Brahmans more than 108 kinds of Brahmans came into being which are found in various parts of Indian Sub-continent. Let us narrate the names of all such kinds. They are

1. Tolak

2. Oadicha

3. Shrimali

4. Bhagad

5. Sindh or Sindhwarni later known as Pushtikar or Pushkarna

6. Trivedi Mahod

7. Chaturvedi Mahod

8. Mal Mahod

9. Irgyashan Mahod

10. Dhenoja Mahod

11. Khadayate

12. Baj khedwal

13. Bhitar Khedwal

14. Jharola

15. Autar vedi

16. Janbu

17. Bayda

18. Kandol

19. Galav

20. Uneval

21. Girnari

22. Guguli

23. Shree Goad old

24. Shree Goad New

25. Medatwal

26. Odumbar

27. Kapith

28. Vatmool

29. Sragalvat

30. Pal

31. Sotale

32. Shirpatan Motala

33. Karnataka

34. Six kinds of Tailang

35. Niyogi

36. 15 kinds of Darvads

37. Maharashtra

38. Chit pawan Konkunsth

39. Karashtra

40. Trihotra

41. Dasgotra

42. Dvatrishdgram

43. Patityagram

44. Mithunkar

45. Belanjigram

46. Gorashta

47. Keral

48. Tulav

49. Naiburu

50. Haivo

51. yambradri

52. Kaidav

53. Kodhar

54. Shivali

55. Dishaval

56. Bhat Mevadi

57. Trivadi Mevadi

58. Choryi Mevadi

59. Six kinds of Bad Nagar

60. Visnogre

61. Satho Dave

62. Chitode Nagar

63. Bharad Nagar

64. Prashanore Nagar

65. Goad, 12 kinds of Malvi Goad

66. Shri Goad

67. Ganga Putra Goad

68. Haryana Goad

69. Vashishtha Goad

70. Soarabh Goad

71. Dalbhya Goad

72. Mukhesain Goad

73. Bhat Nagar Goad

74. Surya Dhwaj Goad

75. Mathura ke Chaube

76. Valmik Brahman Gujar Samapardayi

77. Rayakval

78. Gomtri

79. Dayma

80. Sarswat

81. Mitra Goad

82. Kapil

83. Talajiye

84. Khetuve

85. Nardi

86. Chandar sar

87. Baladre

88. Gayabal

89. Odye or Utkal

90. Abhir

91. Palivas

92. Letvas

93. Sanodiya

94. Parashar

95. Kanya kubja

96. Sompura

97. Kambodh sidh

98. Nadorya

99. Bharti

100. Pushkar

101. Garudgalya

102. Bhargva

103. Narmodiya

104. Nandvare

105. Maithila

106. Maitrayani

107. Abhil

108. Madhyandinya

Parasher Brahmans are found at Pushkar Lake who are working as Tirath guru at Pushkar Tirath.

No comments: